Central Union Of Painters, Plumbers,
Electro and Construction Workers Nepal

English | नेपाली

What's New



Picket Lines

GEFONT to distribute award to distinguished Trade Unionists

GEFONT to distribute award to distinguished Trade Unionists

GEFONT is going to distribute  awards to the distinguished Trade Unionist for their valuable contribution in Trade union movement  organising  the 'Second  award distribution ceremony' in  Kathmandu.

On the occasion of May Day, GEFONT President Cde Bishnu Rimal  declared names of the distinguished  trade unionist for Madhav Neupane and Nuru Bangchhu Sherpa Memorial Award and name of children for the Ganga Devi Scholarship award as well.

Two years back, two different awards had been established in the names of two founding members of GEFONT Late Cde. Nuru Wangchhu Sherpa and Late Cde. Madhav Neupane who contributed lot for achieving heights of the Federation. 

Nuru Wangchhu Sherpa who was one of the Co-founder member of GEFONT and then president of Trekking worker's Association expired in 1989 while climbing Mt.Dhaulagiri. It was decided that the award will be given to a brave & courageous Trade Unionist.

This year ,this award will be given to Cde. Sarki Man Tamang former President of UNITRAV.

Similarly, Cde. Madhav  Neupane who expired in October 2010, was involved in different activities of GEFONT from its establishment to his last date. He spent total 21 years in the service of the Confederation. He was one of the nine GEFONT founders and one of the twelve selected union educators. He represented GEFONT in different forums both at national and international level. He was one of the four leaders of newly launched "GEFONT Veteran Network" and has contributed total 31 years of his life to cultivate Nepali Union movement.It was decided that the award will be given to best organisor.

This year this award will be given to Cde. Bed Kumar Khatiwada  as best organiser ,who is organising Nepali Migrant workers in Malaysia.

Similarly, GEFONT will also distribute Ganga Devi Memorial Scholarship and Ganga Devi Memorial Health Assistance. 

Ganga Devi Memorial scholarship will be given to Sunita Danuwar and Ganga devi Memorial health Assistance will  given to Cde. Parshram Ghimire of Jhapa .